I am sure by now we have all heard about the North Charleston, S. Carolina shooting. Officer Slager has been charged with murder in the shooting death of Walter Scott. I really don’t have much to say about the issue as there is still a lot of information missing. However, I will include a thought list.

1. Scott was stopped for a tail light. How did he end up in a field behind a pawn shop? Of course I don’t know the area and I can’t tell the proximity of the incident location to the cars. I am sure this question will be answered once court proceedings get underway. Until then, I can’t really form a solid opinion or perspective.

2. I remember watching cops as a child and finding humor in the cops constantly having to chase down the criminals. Now I understand they were being filmed, but when did cops stop chasing and go straight to shooting? If this is indeed the case…because once again, we only see part of the video and it could be possible the cop just finished chasing Scott and that is why they are in a different location.

3. I am not looking to start a debate, but I can’t help but think about Respectability Politics. I will simply say…follow directions. Don’t give them a reason. At the beginning of the video there is clearly a violation of personal space. I am sure this will be used by the defense team (if it gets that far) as proof the officers life was in danger.

4. Overall, if this was truly a chase of a cop having to get physical with an assailant and then fearing for his life…this isn’t a full racism issue, but also a training issue. I can imagine myself having someone get aggressive with me and as they are running away, I start shooting. I feel that would be my natural reaction…because I am not trained to deal with anything like that. Racism and prejudice mos def exist but there is a lot of fear revolving around our race. This is due to a number of things, but is a white person who fears a black man racist or just misinformed?

Just some things to consider.

Peace, Love, and Understanding,

Noet